2nd Annual Comic Con

Its name was "Mrinal's art: the Lotus of Saraswati"

The 2nd annual comic con held at Delhi between 17th to 19th of Feb was an awesome experience. I participated as an independent artist, and showcased by self publilshed comic books.

My 4 comic books, conceptualized, drawn and lettered by me were there for sale

I was overwhelmed with the response that I got in the three days. Art and comic book fans not only purchased my self published comic books (signed copies !!) but also some of my old art work, including the drawing sheets withtwo holes !!

Crowd poured in each day and I was not free to even go out and see whats happening at the stage

I got to know a lot of people in the industry, all comic book fans and enthusiastic young enterprenaurs.

I met Jatin Varma from Pop Culture Publishing and the founder of Comic Con India, Jazyl from The Beast Legion, Karan Vir from Vimanica Comics, Fenil from Fenil Sherdiwala Comics, Chetan Sharma from Animagic, Kishore, Rosh and Sinu from the Libera Artisti. One thing I understood by knowing all of them is that these guys believed a lot what they were doing. They had that PASSION to do what they want with little heed paid to the risk and consequences. Yes there is risk but at the end they are all satisfied that they are doing something they love.

I bought few comics and some art material. I got a set of sakura pigma pen as a gift from the company when I sketched on the spot a figure of Bheeshma. I also won a contest of eye comic drawing and as prize got a T-shirt, watch and computer speaker.

I sketched on the spot an illustration of Bheeshma and gifted it to Sakura micron pen team

It was a great experience one of the happiest in my life till now.

But there is a long way ahead. This is just a beginning. I have to apply knowledge that I have gathered and also have to work on some immediate action items and parallely think of a completely new comic book story.

The overall experience I cannot describe in words, but yes there is lot more to do now, that I know for sure !

About Mrinal Rai

I am a story teller. My unconscious self works a 9 hours a day in IT paying my due credits to my educational qualifications (read degrees). My conscious self is always busy 24X7 weaving new stories and trying to find out ways to tell them. I have authored a book, drawn few comic books, graphic novels and more are on the way :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2nd Annual Comic Con

  1. jazylh says:

    It was a pleasure meeting you at the con to Mrinal. Just read your book. Loved the art.

    • Mrinal Rai says:

      Thanks Jazyl..It was great to meet you too !! You might have read the older versions of my comics on scribd.. I will soon have one website ready and where few more comic books with better art work will be uploaded.. I will connect with you soon and ofcourse will look forward to see at the next con or who knows before that 🙂

Leave a Reply

